Suffering a Loss

Two years have gone by and it still hurts.

Two years ago today, my aunt suffered a massive brain aneurysm.  It happened while she was at work.  There was no family history and she was a healthy 51 year old woman.  This event was completely unexpected and to this day I still don’t understand it.

My aunt and uncle who had been married for 34 years when she passed had 3 sons together.  I had just started working at the hospital next door to the one they airlifted her to and I went next door after work.  I remember holding on to my cousin, the youngest son, and telling him everything was going to be alright.  I really thought it would be.  They were keeping her alive on life support in hope to have my cousin make it back home , he was serving our country in Afghanistan at the time.  We were hopeful that she would be able to come out of it.   What I told my cousin wasn’t true.  It wasn’t alright.  Two years later, it still isn’t.

It’s still is hard to grasp that she is gone.  Just 8 months before she passed, I was living with them.  They welcomed me into their home when I first moved to Houston.  And it was my home for 6 months.  I was the girl they never had. With 3 girls in our family, she was always active in our lives.  She joined in on things like shopping for my sister’s wedding dress and so forth.  Unfortunately she wasn’t there to go shopping with us when my wedding came around.

Exactly one week after she passed, I saw her in a dream.  We were in an all white room and she came up and held me and told me she was happy.  It put me at rest a little.  That same night, two other family members had similar dreams.  I feel so blessed to have been able to have that dream, I just want to have it again.  I just want to feel her presence.

I love you. 

Leave a Reply

